Ignition Interlock Laws in the State of Arkansas

In the State of Arkansas an ignition interlock device (IID) is required for all alcohol-related convictions, including first-time offenses. The offender is responsible for any and all costs associated with the IID, including monthly lease payments, purchase, maintenance, monitoring and removal. Offenders are required to have IIDs serviced by the certified service provider every two months.

Arkansas FlagThe IID is a small device that is connected to the vehicle’s ignition system. The driver is required to blow into the device to submit a breath sample. The IID measures the alcohol content of the breath sample and compares it to a pre-set limit.  If the breath sample indicates an alcohol level that is above the pre-set limit, the IID prevents the vehicle from starting. IIDs also require drivers to submit random breath samples while operating the vehicles. If a “rolling re-test” results in a breath alcohol content that is above the pre-set limit, the IID initiates an alarm sequence that includes sounding the vehicle’s horn and flashing the vehicle’s lights. The alarm sequence continues until the driver turns off the vehicle or submits a clean breath sample. In some situations, the IID initiates a permanent lockout phase during which the vehicle cannot be started under any circumstances. The vehicle must be towed to the service provider to have the permanent lockout released. The offender is responsible for any and all costs associated with the permanent lockout, including towing and any fees imposed by the service provider.

At the time of conviction, the offender’s driving privileges are suspended and the court determines the time period of the IID restriction. Typically, IIDs are required for a period of one year or for the remainder of the suspension period. To obtain an IID-restricted driver’s license, the offender must submit proof of IID installation to the Office of Driver Services.

For first-time offenses, driving privileges are suspended for 6 months. IID-restricted driver’s licenses are available immediately to first-time offenders. For second-time offenses, driving privileges are suspended for 24 months. A third DWI conviction within five years of a previous conviction results in the suspension of driving privileges for 30 months. To obtain an IID-restricted license, individuals convicted of second and third offenses must serve a mandatory 45-day suspension period before obtaining an IID-restricted license. Fourth and subsequent DWI convictions within five years of prior convictions result in driving privileges being revoked for four years and restricted driving permits, including the IID-restricted license, are not granted in these cases.

As Arkansas’s largest ignition interlock device provider, we will work with you to have your device installed within 48 hours.  We have many convenient locations throughout Arkansas.  We will also work with you to file all of the required legal paperwork.

Our Start Up Packing Includes the Following:

  • Complete Installation of the Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
  • 1 Month Unit Rental & Monitoring
  • Training On The Proper Use And Maintenance Of The IID
  • Notification to  the Arkansas DMV that you are installed
  • Electrical System Check
  • 24/7/365 Customer Service
  • Low Monthly Rate
  • Optional Theft Protection

Additional Resources for the State of Arkansas

Arkansas License Information

Arkansas Ignition Interlock Law