Florida’s Ignition Interlock Device Laws

Florida-FlagIn the State of Florida, the courts decide if a first-time conviction of driving under the influence (DUI) with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of less than .15 percent results in an IID installation. Only offenders with a BAC of .15 percent or above are mandated to install an IID in every vehicle they operate regularly. All costs of an IID are to be paid by the offender and all IIDs must be installed by an authorized service provider.

Offenders who must drive employer-owned vehicles as part of their employment may not have to install an IID in the work vehicle, as long as the offender is not the owner of the company in question. In those special cases, the employer must be notified of the offender’s restriction and provide written permission for vehicle operation that is kept with the offender at all times.  Rolling re-tests are standard for IIDs in Florida. The first re-test is within five minutes of starting the vehicle; subsequent re-tests occur every fifteen (15) to thirty (30) minutes.

IIDs are ordered for the following amounts of time:

  • 6 months for 1st  conviction with BAC of .15 percent or higher or if minor is in vehicle at time of arrest
  • 1 year for 2nd conviction, 2 years if BAC is .15 percent or higher or minor is in vehicle at time of arrest
  • 2 years for 3rd conviction
  • 5 years for 4th conviction or more