Iowa’s Ignition Interlock Device Laws

Iowa-FlagIn the State of Iowa, any driver convicted of operating while intoxicated (OWI) may have the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) ordered. A first-time offender will be ordered to install an IID in all vehicles operated by the individual if the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was greater than .10 percent or if an accident occurred causing the individual to be eligible for a temporary restricted license. Offenders may only apply for a restricted license if no OWI-related revocations have occurred within twelve (12) years of the current offense. Repeat offenders are not eligible for temporary restricted licenses and therefore, cannot use an IID.

In the case of a deferred judgment, the offender may request a temporary restricted license and must install an IID if an accident occurred or the BAC was greater than .10 percent. If the court ordered the revocation of the offender’s license, a third time offender may apply for a restricted license after one year as long an IID is installed in all vehicles operated by the individual. An IID must also be installed for any OWI offense that results in personal injury.

All IIDs must be installed and serviced by a state-approved service provider.