Massachusetts’ Ignition Interlock Device Laws

Massachusetts-FlagIn the State of Massachusetts, ignition interlock devices (IIDs) are required for drivers who have been convicted of operating under the influence (OUI) and have a hardship license or are eligible for license reinstatement. If an individual is convicted of two (2) or more OUI offenses and has a hardship license, an IID must be used with the hardship license and for two (2) years after regaining a regular license. Drivers who refuse to submit to a chemical test when suspected of an OUI must use an IID for two (2) years after serving a five (5) year license suspension.

Hardship licenses allow individuals to retain driving privileges while a regular license is suspended. In order to qualify, the offender must prove that public transportation is not a viable option. Offenders who have been allowed to drive with an IID installed are responsible for any and all costs associated with the device. Regular maintenance is required and all vehicles owned or operated, including employer-owned vehicles, must be equipped with an IID. Offenders who operate vehicles with no IID installed, tamper with or remove an IID, or miss a single service appointment face a ten (10) year license revocation.

Rolling re-tests are standard for the Massachusetts IID program and the rules for the re-tests are:

  • Missing one twice within a service period results in license revocation for 10 years
  • Failing twice within a service period with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) between .02 and .05 percent results in 10-year license revocation for first time, lifetime revocation for second time
  • Failing with a BAC higher than .05 percent results in 10-year license revocation for first time, lifetime revocation for second time