Minnesota’s Ignition Interlock Device Laws

Minnesota-FlagThe State of Minnesota requires installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) in all vehicles owned by first-time driving while intoxicated (DWI) offenders with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .16 percent or higher. Second-time offenders may either be required to install an IID on all vehicles or lose their driving privileges for one (1) to two (2) years. After two DWI convictions within ten (10) years, individuals must use an IID for three (3) to six (6) years. A fourth conviction results in a felony charge.

When arrested for DWI in Minnesota, drivers face both criminal and administrative repercussions. These repercussions include jail time, fines, and loss of driving privileges. The first time a driver refuses a chemical test when suspected of DWI, the person is charged with a gross misdemeanor, which comes with fines or jail time and a choice of using an IID for a year or using a restricted license for a year, with no driving privileges the first fifteen (15) days.

Any time a driver loses driving privileges due to DWI, to regain them, the person must:

  • Pass a DWI knowledge test
  • Undergo a chemical health assessment
  • Reapply for a driver’s license, paying regular license fees
  • Pay a $680 license reinstatement fee