Mississippi’s Ignition Interlock Device Laws

Mississippi-FlagIn the State of Mississippi, repeat offenders of the operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) laws may be court-ordered to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in all vehicles they own. An IID is installed, maintained, and removed by state-approved service providers and offenders are responsible for all IID-associated costs. Individuals who have been ordered to install an IID must submit proof of installation and maintenance documentation to the courts. IID maintenance must occur at least once in six (6) months.

An IID is used for six (6) months after driving privileges have been reinstated. In certain cases, the courts may order the installation of an IID while the driver’s license is still suspended. If this occurs, an IID must be installed in every vehicle owned by the offender and any member of the offender’s family. Individuals who drive company-owned vehicles as part of their employment may be exempt from certain IID requirements. However, the offender must notify the employer of the IID restriction and keep written proof of this notification in the company-owned vehicle at all times.

Penalties for OWI in the State of Mississippi:

  • 2nd conviction in 5 years: fine, prison term, community service, 2-year license suspension, owner of vehicle is notified of future confiscation
  • 3rd conviction, etc.: felony charge, fine, prison term, vehicle seized at time of arrest, license suspension for up to 5 years
  • 2 or more convictions exempt driver from hardship exclusion and all vehicles are impounded and sold
  • If OWI resulted in death, mutilation, disfigurement, or permanent disability of another, each person harmed represents a felony charge and a 5-25 year prison term for offender