Nevada’s Ignition Interlock Device Laws

Nevada-FlagIn the State of Nevada, ignition interlock devices (IIDs) are certified by the Nevada Committee on Testing for Intoxication. Anyone convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) and ordered to install an IID must obtain one from a certified service provider. All costs associated with the installation, removal, and use of an IID are paid by the offender. An IID must be installed in all vehicles operated by the offender, except work vehicles. The individual is allowed to drive employer-owned vehicles as long as written proof that the employer was notified of the IID restriction is kept in the vehicle at all times. Commercial vehicles are excluded from this exemption.

Courts must order offenders to install an IID in DUI cases that include vehicular manslaughter, death, bodily harm, or blood/breath alcohol content of .18 or higher. If the individual is convicted with blood/breath alcohol content less than .18, courts may or may not order an IID. If one is ordered, it must be used for three (3) to six (6) months. For mandated installations, the IID is used for twelve (12) to thirty-six (36) months.

An IID must be inspected by a certified service provider:

  • At least once for offenders using the device for 3-6 months
  • Every 90 days for offenders using the device for 12-36 months
  • To check for tampering and functionality