Texas’s Ignition Interlock Device Laws

Texas-FlagIn the State of Texas, a court may order the installation and use of an ignition interlock device (IID) for several reasons. If an individual is convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI), the courts may order an IID regardless of the number of previous convictions. Courts are mandated to order an IID after two (2) or more convictions of intoxication assault, intoxication manslaughter, and DWI, in any combination. Either the courts or an individual’s probation officer may order an IID installation as a probation condition for anyone convicted of an alcohol-related offense. When an offender is court-ordered to install an IID, failure to do so within thirty (30) days will result in the cancellation of the person’s driving privileges. To reinstate the driving privileges, another court order must be obtained.

When ordered, an IID must be installed in all vehicles operated by the offender, with the exception of employer-owned vehicles operated by the offender during working hours. Individuals ordered to use an IID must also obtain a restricted interlock license. In order to obtain a restricted interlock license, the offender must have paid all license reinstatement fees and must not have a suspended or expired license. Offenders are responsible for all costs associated with the IID, including restricted license and reinstatement fees.

License suspensions in Texas are as follows:

  • 1 year for offenders under age 21
  • Up to 2 years for 1st time offenders age 21 and older
  • 90 days to 2 years for refusal or failure of a blood or breath test following a DWI