Wyoming’s Ignition Interlock Device Laws

Wyoming-FlagIn the State of Wyoming, drivers convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) or drivers who refuse to submit to a chemical test when suspected of DUI may be court ordered to install an ignition interlock device (IID). Court orders are based upon the circumstances of the DUI and the individual’s record. When ordered to use an IID, the offender must install the device on all vehicles operated by the individual. All costs associated with use of an IID are the responsibility of the offender, no matter how many IIDs are installed. To use an IID, the offender must obtain a restricted driver’s license. To qualify for a restricted license, the driver must pay all associated fees, provide proof of insurance, and submit proof of IID installation.

Rolling re-tests are a mandatory part of Wyoming’s IID program. Offenders must submit breath samples when prompted while the vehicle is in operation. All IIDs must be serviced at regular intervals by state-approved service providers. During these maintenance appointments, data will be downloaded from the device and sent to the Department of Transportation. IIDs are regularly checked for signs of tampering, circumvention, removal, and proper operation.

IID restriction periods are generally:

  • 6 months for 1st time refusals and offenders with blood alcohol content (BAC) of .15 or higher
  • 1 year for 2nd time refusals and DUI offenders
  • 2 years for 3rd time refusals and DUI offenders
  • A lifetime for 4th time and subsequent refusals and DUI offenders