In the State of Rhode Island, driving while intoxicated (DWI) convictions may result in the court-ordered installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). Offenders are responsible for all costs associated with the device and an IID must be installed in all vehicles operated by the individual. The State certifies certain IID service providers and any court-ordered IID must be installed, maintained, and removed by one of those certified providers.
IID systems in Rhode Island utilize rolling re-tests, meaning the driver must submit breath samples while the vehicle is operating. Failure to pass a re-test will trigger the IID to sound the vehicle’s horn and flash its lights until either the re-test is passed with an acceptable breath sample or the vehicle is turned off. Certain conditions may also trigger a permanent lockout phase, during which the vehicle will not start without towing it to a service provider for service. An IID may not be used until all other DWI penalties have been observed and the length of its use depends upon blood alcohol content (BAC) levels.
A typical DWI conviction in Rhode Island results in the following penalties:
- 1st offense: license suspension
- 2nd offense: fine, jail, license suspension, IID
- 3rd offense: felony charge, seizure of vehicle, fine, jail, license suspension, IID
Single Step State
- The Rhode Island court may order a Hardship License with ignition interlock or an Ignition Interlock only.
- After installation, take your proof of installation of the Ignition Interlock Device (Installation Certificate), your court order from the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal with requirements for a Hardship License, including the authorized hours of operation (court order) and payment ($100.00 Ignition Interlock fee and $27.50 to update license to add hardship restriction) to:
Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles Adjudication Office
600 New London Avenue
Cranston, RI 02920-3024
Rhode Island Ignition Interlock Resources
RI DMV Hardship License Instructions: http://www.dmv.ri.gov/documents/forms/license/HARDSHIP%20LICENSE%20INSTRUCTIONS.pdf
Rhode Island DMV Ignition Interlock Information: http://www.dmv.ri.gov/adjudication/hardship/index.php
Every situation and state is unique, please consult with your attorney or your state licensing authority to confirm your requirements and obligations.
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. This website contains links to other third-party websites for the convenience of our readers. Links from Ignition Interlock Help to other sites, or from other sites to the Ignition Interlock Help, do not constitute an endorsement by Ignition Interlock Help.