Alaska is a state that’s been helping to set the bar for DUI laws with strict penalties for DUI offenders, including Alaska interlock laws. If a DUI suspect refuses to submit to a chemical test to determine his or her blood alcohol level during a traffic stop, there can be strict penalties. The state of Alaska also has an implied consent law regarding DUI checkpoints requiring first-time refuters to spend three days in jail. A first-time refuter is also required to install an ignition interlock device and pay a fine of up to $1,500. The penalties get stricter with longer jail time and higher fines with each additional refusal.
For first-time DUI offenders, the state of Alaska requires the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device. These Alaska interlock devices have been proven to reduce incidents of drunk driving significantly, removing the choice to drive drunk from a DUI offender. Offenders are responsible for installation costs and the cost of maintenance. First-time DUI offenders may also have driving privileges suspended for 90 days and it is mandatory for first-time DUI offenders to spend three days in jail. The first-time offender must also undergo a substance abuse assessment and can incur fines of up to $1500. Alaska has even higher penalties for offenders with a blood alcohol content of .15 or higher. However, these penalties are left to the discretion of the judge.
Even though Alaska is strict on first-time DUI offenses, there are even higher penalties for each additional DUI charge. Second-time DUI offenders in Alaska are required to have driving privileges taken away for a minimum of one year and serve jail time for a minimum of 20 days. The Alaska interlock laws require these DUI offenders must install an ignition interlock device for a minimum of one year. The offender is responsible for all fees included in the installation and upkeep of the ignition interlock device. These fees can include installation, monthly service charges, and deactivation fees. The DUI offender can also incur fees of up to $3000.
In Alaska, interlock devices reduce the occurrence of repeat DUI offenses. States, such as Alaska, that have adopted ignition interlock device policies for first-time DUI offenders have seen rates of recidivism drop by over half.