The state of Alabama requires the installation and maintenance of ignition interlock devices for first time offenders with a blood alcohol level of .15 percent or greater. The state of Alabama also requires the instillation of ignition interlock devices on all repeat DUI offenders. These devices must be installed on any vehicle operated by the offender. The offender is responsible for all fees associated with the ignition interlock devices, including installation, maintenance fees, monthly lease payments, and the cost of removal. These ignition interlock devices are only obtainable through certified providers within Alabama.
Ignition interlock devices are small mechanical devices that connect to a vehicle’s ignition system. In order to start the vehicle the driver is required to submit a breath sample, measuring the driver’s BAC. If the level of alcohol in the driver’s system is above a preset limit the ignition system will lock and the driver will not be able to start the car. After a certain amount of time the driver will be able to try again. The ignition interlock devices in Alabama require random re-tests while the vehicle is in operation. If the retest is failed the horn will sound and the vehicle’s lights will flash until the car is turned off or until a passing breath test is submit. In certain instances a failed re-test will result in a lock down of the car, requiring the assistance of an ignition interlock device service provider. The offender is also responsible from any towing fees or service fees from failed breath tests.
- In the state of Alabama a first time DUI offender is subject to a misdemeanor conviction, a jail sentence of up to one year, a fine ranging from $500 to $2,000, DUI school, and a 90 day suspension of driving privileges from the day of the arrest. If the first offense involves a BAC of .15 percent or higher the courts mandate the installation of an ignition interlock device.
- A second time DUI offender in the state of Alabama results in jail time of a minimum of 48 hours and a maximum of a year, 20 days of community service, a fine ranging from $1,000 to $5,000, the suspension of driving privileges for one year, and the installation of an ignition interlock device.
- A third DUI offense within a five year period of the last DUI conviction results in jail time of a minimum of 60 days and a maximum of a year, a fine ranging from $2,000 to $10,000, the suspension of driving privileges for three years and an the installation of an ignition interlock device.
- A fourth DUI offense within a five year period of the last DUI conviction is a Class C felony. The offender serves jail time of a minimum of a year and a maximum of ten years, pays a fine that ranges between $4,000 and $10,000, has driving privileges suspended for five years, and must install an ignition interlock device.
Each conviction also incurs a $100 fine that goes to the Impaired Drivers Trust Fund.