Ignition interlock devices (IIDs) go a long way toward keeping drunk drivers off the roads. Since 2002, Florida has used IIDs as part of their programs to help drivers convicted of DUIs get back behind the wheel. Using special licenses and driving restrictions in addition to ignition interlock devices, those drivers are able to put some normalcy back into their lives.
It is not necessarily easy to get permission to drive using an IID in Florida. You have to apply for the privilege and may not be approved. If you do, you are responsible for any costs associated with the device, in addition to other fines and fees you are required to pay as part of your DUI conviction. Once you get a driver’s license, it will have a “P” on it, meaning you are required to use an ignition interlock on any vehicle you’re driving.
Your court order will tell you how long your driving privileges are suspended for and that you are required to use an IID. After getting the IID installed at a court-authorized vendor, your actions in your vehicle will be recorded for use by the court. The IIDs used in Florida record visual evidence, as well as documenting typical IID data, like how many times you passed or failed the breathalyzer test and how many times you drove the vehicle.
The first time you are convicted of a DUI in Florida, you may not be ordered to use an IID. However, if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was 0.15 or higher or you had a minor in the vehicle with you at the time of your arrest, you will automatically be required to use an IID for at least 6 months. If you get a second DUI conviction, you will have to use an IID for at least 1 year. A third conviction results in using an IID for at least 2 years, and any subsequent convictions require you to use an IID for at least 5 years each time.