Nobody WANTS to go to jail. Most of the time, just the thought of it keeps us all on the straight and narrow path. Unfortunately, that path gets a little harder to follow when alcohol is involved, leading to a bad decision to drive under its influence. Most states are beginning to see that rehabilitation and education are better ways to deal with a DUI, which is why there are more ignition interlock programs each year. A Missouri DUI, however, could still mean jail and other consequences.
You could face jail time for a Missouri DUI if you:
- Only drove a short distance while under the influence of alcohol.
- Could not find a taxi or a friend to drive you home.
- Think you drive better after a few drinks.
- Did not want to leave your car at a bar overnight.
- Thought you were okay to drive.
- Just had “one for the road.”
- Tamper with or attempt to circumvent your ignition interlock device.
In Missouri, when you test at or above a .08 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC), you are legally drunk. You will have court costs and fines to pay, as well as an ignition interlock requirement, restricted driver’s license, and more. If you are under 21, any amount of alcohol will trigger DUI charges. If you have a CDL, you have a BAC limit of .04 percent.
Rehabilitation and ignition interlock programs are effective in reducing drunk driving incidents, but the best prevention is to find a safe way home when drinking. You have no risk of jail time, an ignition interlock, or the personal devastation that drunk driving can cause. You could go to jail for a DUI in Missouri, but that’s not even the worst thing you could face if you choose to drink and drive.