When in Texas, do as the Texans do… except, of course, drunk driving. We all know the state likes to go big or go home, so it’s no surprise that the $10K costs of a Texas DWI are almost doubled in the state. Welcome to Texas, just remember that sober driving is going to save you up to $17K, and a whole lot of hassle on top of that.
According to TexasDWI.org, a first offense Texas DWI will cost you:
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- Around $2,000 to bail you out of jail.
- Almost $5,000 for a lawyer.
- Up to $1,000 in county fees.
- $300 for alcohol education classes.
- $250 average insurance rate increase.
- $1,950 to reinstate your license.
- $3,000 to keep your license after it is reinstated (DWI surcharge)
- Ignition interlock fees, including installation and monitoring (varies, but you can count on a few dollars per day).
Texas DWI law recently expanded ignition interlock access so that offenders can install the device even if it isn’t mandated by the court. In return, they are able to legally drive and provide their own transportation for employment, education, medical or legal reasons. There is a cost attached to that, but it is much less than the cost of happy hour after work, a sacrifice many are willing to take, considering how they ended up with an interlock in the first place.
More than the financial burden of a DWI, there is the emotional and mental burden to face, too. Lost wages, poor motivation, health issues, etc., impact a person’s quality of life. After a major life event, such as a DWI without incident, all of those problems are possible. If a person is injured or worse during the incident, the mental and emotional toll can be even worse than the $17K cost.
Go big or go home, as long as you get there safely, is the real truth behind preventing Texas DWIs. Nobody wants to face those consequences, especially when drunk driving is preventable with just a simple phone call.