Do I Need a Colorado Ignition Interlock?

Colorado has a lot of rules when it comes to ignition interlock requirements, and when you’re not sure what to expect, you run the risk of more trouble after your DUI or DWAI. If you’ve been charged with drunk driving, you’re not only looking at a criminal charge, but, you also have administrative penalties from the state. That means that more than likely, you will need an ignition interlock device. •	If you are charged with a DUI in Colorado, your license will be suspended or revoked by the DMV. You may request a hearing to dispute this penalty, and once your suspension/revocation period has ended, you will be required to get an interlock. •	Once you get into court for a DUI charge, you will be required to install an interlock per Colorado law if you are convicted of the drunk driving charge. •	If you are in court for a DWAI and have any previous drunk driving convictions, you will need a Colorado ignition interlock. •	A DWAI does not mean that you will be required to install an interlock by the DMV, in addition t any court ordered consequences, but, it is possible. If you need a Colorado ignition interlock, whether as a requirement of your administrative (DMV) penalties for a DUI or DWAI, or as a part of your drunk driving conviction, your next step is to get into an ignition interlock service provider as soon as possible. The only time you are allowed to drive without an interlock after you’ve been charged with drunk driving is the 7-day suspension period that you face after you are charged with a DUI. Once that time is up, or you have the official documentation from the DMV or the court, you absolutely need to face facts and get your interlock installed.Colorado has a lot of rules when it comes to ignition interlock requirements, and when you’re not sure what to expect, you run the risk of more trouble after your DUI or DWAI. If you’ve been charged with drunk driving, you’re not only looking at a criminal charge, but, you also have administrative penalties from the state. That means that more than likely, you will need an ignition interlock device.

  • If you are charged with a DUI in Colorado, your license will be suspended or revoked by the DMV. You may request a hearing to dispute this penalty, and once your suspension/revocation period has ended, you will be required to get an interlock.
  • Once you get into court for a DUI charge, you will be required to install an interlock per Colorado law if you are convicted of the drunk driving charge.
  • If you are in court for a DWAI and have any previous drunk driving convictions, you will need a Colorado ignition interlock.
  • A DWAI does not mean that you will be required to install an interlock by the DMV, in addition t any court ordered consequences, but, it is possible.

If you need a Colorado ignition interlock, whether as a requirement of your administrative (DMV) penalties for a DUI or DWAI, or as a part of your drunk driving conviction, your next step is to get into an ignition interlock service provider as soon as possible. The only time you are allowed to drive without an interlock after you’ve been charged with drunk driving is the 7-day suspension period that you face after you are charged with a DUI. Once that time is up, or you have the official documentation from the DMV or the court, you absolutely need to face facts and get your interlock installed.

Call Now Button