Almost every state in the U.S. has an administrative license revocation (ALR) policy for drunk drivers. ALR is a stopgap solution between the time you’re arrested for DUI and when you face a judge in court. Since it could be weeks before you get into court, Mississippi ALR gives you some options to get your affairs in order and position yourself ahead of the curve.
Specifically, a Mississippi ALR means:
- If your BAC (blood alcohol concentration) is above .08, or if you refuse BAC testing, your license will be suspended or revoked immediately.
- You can still have administrative (DMV) penalties even if your DUI case is dismissed in court.
- You have 10 days after your ALR suspension/revocation to challenge your case with the DMV, you have a temporary hold on your license restriction during that time and can drive legally.
- If you do not challenge the ALR, your license will be suspended for 90 days on the 11th day after your DUI stop/ALR revocation.
- After 30 days, you are allowed to install an ignition interlock device in order to maintain employment, family, health and legal obligations.
Mississippi allows you the privilege of driving after a DUI, but there are definitely hurdles to getting back to where you were before your DUI. The state requires ignition interlock devices for all offenders who are convicted in court of a DUI. As such, you get your freedom back, along with a lesson on the importance of remaining sober while doing so. There isn’t any leeway when it comes to your interlock requirement through the DMV or court system… or both.
47 other states in the U.S. have ALR policies that reflect Mississippi’s stance on interlocks and drunk drivers. These policies are highly recommended by MADD, too, reducing the chance that an accused drunk driver could commit another crime before they even make it into court.