A Major Breakthrough in Preventing Virginia Underage DUI

Virginia underage DUIIf you are under 21 in Virginia, you know that you can’t buy alcohol. There are only certain circumstances, such as with your parents at home, in which it is legal for you to drink alcohol at all. Despite knowing the laws, underage drinking still happens. But Virginia underage DUI laws are strict, with major consequences. That party you are heading to… is it really worth the risk to your future? Are you willing to face all of the consequences for underage drinking and driving in Virginial?

Virginia underage drivers are responsible for 14 percent of traffic fatalities in the state. Alcohol plays a big role in those big numbers.

If you are caught driving with a .02 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or higher, you will lose your driver’s license for a year, pay a fine up to $1,000, face up to 10 days in jail, and will have to complete 50 hours of community service. If you are convicted of a Virginia underage DUI, in addition to the underage penalties, you will also be sentenced as an adult. Your age will not get you out of the mandatory ignition interlock requirement, and any other drivers or owners will be required to use the device, too.

Pro tip: rideshare services do not ask why you need a ride home, they just drive you there safely.

It is all fun and games until someone gets hurt, and that is the reason for the strict drunk driving and Virginia underage DUI laws. Fines and community service are nothing in comparison to the reality of what a drunk driver can do to a family. By staying sober behind the wheel, no matter how old you are, you’re ensuring the safety of everyone’s in your path. The consequences you face are too much to pay when you could just as easily find yourself a safe ride home when drinking, regardless of age.

Educate Your Teens About Iowa Underage OWIs

Iowa underage OWIUnderage drinking is a growing problem in the United States. Drinking and driving incidents involving young people are on the rise. Teens need to be informed of the dangers and consequences of underage drinking, especially if they’re licensed drivers who may get behind the wheel. Many states have now adopted some form of a zero tolerance law when it comes to underage OWIs.

An Iowa underage OWI carries both administrative penalties and criminal consequences if you’re convicted. If you’re pulled over and your BAC is .02% or higher you can be subjected to an administrative license revocation. They will automatically suspend your license for 60 to 90 days depending on the number of offenses.

If convicted of an Iowa underage OWI, you will be subjected to the same criminal punishments as any other OWI offender. For your first offense, if your BAC is under .08%, your license will be suspended for 6 months and you will not be eligible for a temporary restricted license for 60 days. You can obtain a temporary restricted license with the use of an ignition interlock device. If your BAC is above .08%, fines of $625 to $1,250 and jail time of 2 days to a year will be added to your suspension time.

On top of the administrative and criminal punishments for the Iowa underage OWI, you can be subjected to other penalties from charges such as minor in possession or soliciting alcohol. Driving under the influence will be punished quickly and harshly, especially if you’re underage. You will not be given a pass for being young, you will be punished to the full extent of the law.

Parents make sure you discuss the responsibilities associated with being a licensed driver with your children, including making wise choices when it comes to drugs and/or alcohol. Let them fly, but make sure they’re flying safely.

How Far Can an Oklahoma Underage DUI Take You?

Oklahoma underage DUIIt used to be that people would take a “kids will be kids” attitude toward any type of underage drinking. Unfortunately, that attitude has almost encouraged those same kids to drink and drive. Alcohol impairment and beginner driving skills are a deadly combination. Oklahoma underage DUI laws and penalties reflect the severity and danger of those under 21 who drink and then assume they’re okay to drive.

Even a tiny amount of alcohol can be enough for an Oklahoma underage DUI charge. Across the U.S., there are Zero Tolerance laws that forbid anyone under 21 from consuming alcohol. Oklahoma not only has zero tolerance for underage drinking, the state takes any attempts to drive under the influence very seriously.

Penalties for a first-time Oklahoma underage DUI include:

  • With a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) under .08 percent: a six-month driver’s license suspension and a $500 fine.
  • If BAC is above .08 percent, there could be a six-month jail sentence, a fine up to $1,000 and a 30-day driver’s license suspension.

For a second Oklahoma underage DUI, your penalties increase dramatically. You could be sentenced to jail for up to five years (one-year minimum) with a $2,500 fine and six-month driver’s license suspension.

Oklahoma also requires ignition interlock devices for all DUI offenses, which means that your freedom to drive will be impacted, along with your parents if they own the vehicle you drive. However, there are DUI diversion programs that may allow you to expunge your record if you have an interlock installed and complete the other requirements of the program.

Steering clear of drunk driving is one of the easiest choices we have in life. While there are obvious temptations to drink, even if you are not legally allowed to, you are really making choices that can affect the rest of your life, as well as anyone else in your path.

Don’t Be That Guy: Nebraska Underage DUI

nebraska underage DUIUnder 21? You may want to rethink your weekend plans, especially if you want to avoid Nebraska underage DUI troubles. You must be at least 21 years old to drink alcohol in the Sooner State, and while we all know that is not a law people pay attention to, there are reasons to really weigh your options before you head out for a night of underage drinking.

Nebraska underage DUI drivers are responsible for 12 percent of drunk driving fatalities in the state.

A Nebraska underage DUI means that you have been caught driving a vehicle (even a bicycle) with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02 percent or higher. That amount of alcohol is generally less than a standard drink, and is usually not enough for a person 21 or older to be charged with a Nebraska DUI.

For a first-time conviction, you could face up to 60 days in jail, a $500 fine, and six-month license suspension.

For a second-time conviction, you could face up to six months in jail, a $500 fine, and a one-year license suspension.

Additional charges that can occur as a result of your underage DUI include:

  • Soliciting alcohol.
  • Child endangerment.
  • Minor in possession.
  • Distributing alcohol to minors.
  • False identification violations.
  • Any other violations that relate to your driving.

On top of that, you have to worry about an ignition interlock requirement, how a DUI will affect your insurance, and what your parents may say or do.

Staying sober may not seem like the most fun thing to do, but there are legal and safety reasons why you are encouraged to wait until you are old enough to drink. Not only can you avoid hangovers and the hassles of the next morning, but you can also ensure that you are not at risk for any type of Nebraska underage DUI to damage your future.

Stiff Penalties for Illinois Underage DUIs

Illinois underage duiIn this country teens represent 10 percent of licensed drivers, but they are involved 17 percent of alcohol-related car accidents. Once they start college, many kids spend more money alcohol than they do on books. This points to a disturbing trend of bad decision-making skills among our youth and a tendency to ignore the consequences of their actions.

An Illinois underage DUI is the result of those bad decisions.

In Illinois, underage DUIs carry stiff penalties. With Illinois’ Zero Tolerance Law, if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over .00 percent, you will be arrested immediately and your license will be suspended for three months. If you refuse BAC testing, your license is suspended for six months. With the new driving relief law, not only are you required to serve 30 (or more) days of hard suspension and have an ignition interlock device in place, but you must be 18 years old to obtain driving relief. Otherwise, you may have to serve the entirety of your suspension without relief.

If your BAC is over .08 percent when you are underage, you will be penalized much more harshly. You will be subjected to both driving sanctions and criminal underage DUI penalties. The driving sanction for a first offense Illinois underage DUI is a six-month suspension of your driving privileges, and in the case of a criminal conviction, penalties include up to one year in jail, fines up to $2,500, and a two year license suspension without the ability to obtain driving relief for a year, and that’s only if you’re over 18.

Under certain circumstances, you can also be charged with an aggravated DUI. Those circumstances include causing great bodily harm or death while driving under the influence, a third or subsequent DUI conviction, or committing a DUI without a license, permit, or insurance. All of these will result in a felony charge which will reflect negatively on you for the rest of your life, to say nothing about the steep financial penalties and extensive jail time.

If you want to keep yourself and your friends safe, stay out of jail and retain your driving privileges, make the smart choice to not drink and drive.

Calling a Parent to Prevent Colorado Underage DUI

colorado underage DUIOn any given Friday or Saturday night across the country thousands of high schoolers and underage college kids attend parties. A lot of these parties will have alcohol available. It is naive to think that your child will never try alcohol, or that they might not be frightened to call you after already making an unwise choice and then compound it by getting behind the wheel. This is why it’s important for parents to communicate with their kids and be aware of the law.

In Colorado there is zero tolerance for underage drinking. This means if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .02% or above, you will be charged with a Colorado underage DUI. Not only that but if your BAC .05% or above, you will receive the typical adult consequences associated with a DWAI or DUI.

The penalties associated with a Colorado underage DUI include:

  • A fine up to $150.
  • 4 points on your driving record.
  • Up to 24 hours of useful public service.
  • Automatic 3-month suspension of your driver’s license.
  • An evaluation or assessment of alcohol and/or drug addiction at your expense.
  • An education and treatment program for alcohol and/or drugs at your expense.
  • Possible ignition interlock requirement.

Additional charges such as minor in possession, soliciting alcohol and moving and vehicle maintenance violations among others can also be added on to your Colorado underage DUI and will carry additional penalties. You will also have the additional cost of increased insurance premiums or even struggling to find a new insurance premium who will cover a driver with an underage DUI conviction.

The penalties associated with a BAC above .05% are even harsher and are not something you want to have to be associated with, as some of them can have lifelong effects on things such as getting into college or obtaining certain jobs. Remember, calling mom or dad for a ride might be scary and the consequences might not be fun, but your parents’ consequences are much better than criminal consequences that will stay on your record forever.

Arizona Underage DUI Consequences Affect Teens and Parents

Arizona Underage DUIIt is important to have honest conversations with teens about consequences of their actions. They need to be aware that some things in life have to be taken seriously. One of the most important of these conversations should be about alcohol consumption and driving afterward.

The entire United States has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking. Nowhere in this country you can get behind the wheel of a car after even one drink while underage and not be charged with an underage DUI if you get pulled over. In Arizona, if you are caught driving under the influence before the age of 21, the consequences are severe. Impaired driving is not required, merely a BAC of .01% or higher, to be charged with an Arizona underage DUI.

With an Arizona Underage DUI, just like a standard DUI, you don’t even have to be driving. If you are in actual physical control of the vehicle, you can be charged. In other words, if you are sitting in the driver’s seat on the side of the road, sleeping or awake, with the keys on your person, a DUI charge can be made.

The consequences for an Arizona underage DUI can include:

  • Up to 6 months in a juvenile detention center.
  • $2500 fine.
  • Suspension of your driver’s license and/or the installation of an ignition interlock device.
  • Drug or alcohol treatment programs.
  • Community service.

An ignition interlock device installation may even affect the parent’s vehicle and access to it, not only will the offending teen have to use it to operate the vehicle, so will the parent. As well as affecting the teen and the parents’ vehicle(s), it will affect the teen’s insurance rates which also impacts the parents’ pocketbook Some insurance companies will terminate the policy completely if there’s an underage DUI conviction and others will raise their rates by $100-200 per month. An underage DUI has consequences for both teens and parents, talk to your children about underage drinking.

Texas Underage DWI: MADD about Prom Season

Prom and Texas underage DWIProm season is here and soon graduation parties will be a cause for celebration, but sometimes at a high cost to teenage lives. Underage drinking is a problem that has serious consequences for the entire family, perhaps most especially for the adults.  A Texas underage DWI assigns responsibility for underage drinking not only to the teens who consume alcohol but also to adults who provide it to teens. As such, MADD is launching a Power of Parents campaign to bring parents and teens together to talk about the dangers of drunk driving.

MADD warns that even after a Texas underage DWI, when the teen or minor has their license reinstated, they may still have to drive under the watchful eye of the courts. In these cases, the court may order the minor to install an ignition interlock device on his or her car or on the car that the minor drives the most frequently. This will have to be done at the minor’s own expense. In many cases, that means the parent is financially responsible, and as the owners of a household vehicle, the parent will have to use the device as if they were convicted of a Texas underage DWI, too.

Ignition interlock devices can be installed in any vehicle, even if you haven’t been arrested or charged with drunk driving. Many parents install ignition interlock devices in their child’s vehicles to help guarantee sober driving and bring peace of mind. Teen alcohol use kills 4,700 people each year, according to MADD. An interlock device can help provide peace of mind by preventing your child from starting their vehicle after they have consumed alcohol.

Power of Parents is one of three programs in MADD’s underage drinking prevention initiative. They are designed to empower teens to take a stand and influence their peers against underage drinking or riding in a car with someone who has been drinking. Power of Parents utilizes environmental strategies to reshape community attitudes to discourage adults from providing alcohol to underage youth and encouraging support for efforts to enforce the minimum drinking age. Combined, the three programs work together for total community mobilization to prevent and reduce underage drinking.

A Texas Underage DWI Means a Family Ignition Interlock

Texas underage DWIZero-tolerance laws were introduced in the early 1980s in reaction to the high level of teenage drunk driving injuries and deaths across the country. Texas teenage DWI is taken seriously, and in response to federal financial incentives, all states now implement zero-tolerance laws. Zero-tolerance laws have two components. The first component is Illegal per se laws; per se means in and of itself. This means that if a minor under 21 years of age is caught driving with a negligible percentage of alcohol in his or her blood, they will be arrested for a DUI immediately.

Some states have different designations for drunk driving convictions below .08 BAC, the legal, per se, limit. In Texas, the different designation actually refers to an underage DWI, a serious crime on its own. To really drive home the point about Texas underage DWI, the state stands out from others in a unique way as well: ignition interlock requirements for Texas underage DWI convictions.

Minors who are convicted of Texas Underage DWI will:

  1. Receive a one-year driver license suspension
  2. Be required to complete a 12-hour class in an authorized Alcohol Education Program*.

*Failure to complete the Alcohol Education Program will result in an 180-daysuspension. Subsequent offenses may result in a one-year suspension.

A minor may also receive a 90-day driver’s license suspension if an interlock ignition device and community service are ordered by the presiding judge  (a special driver license must be issued to drive with an interlock ignition device). That means, parents, if your child is using your car as their own and they are convicted of a Texas underage DWI, your vehicle will likely end up with an IID. Remind your children of your unending sacrifices and that you’d much prefer bringing them home if they’re drinking than have an IID requirement that isn’t your own.

No Alabama Alcohol, More Mississippi Underage Drunk Driving?

More Mississippi underage drinking? Thanks, AlabamaSpring break is headed our way, even as many of us are already enjoying spring-like weather, despite what that pesky groundhog told us. With such an early start to spring this year, college students are raring to get their spring break fix, especially those with coastal plans. But Alabama seems to have a different idea this year, with new laws to keep the Alabama beaches more family-friendly than ever. As a result, those laws may also increase Mississippi underage drunk driving.

This is why we can’t have nice things.

In 2016, Gulf Shores, Alabama, had a problem with its beaches, particularly where spring breakers were drinking. So this year, the state is banning alcohol from its public beaches, allowing for safe spring break celebrations and selfies. Gulf Shores isn’t too far from Gulf Port, Mississippi, at least not when you’re planning for a bombdiggity spring break trip. Mississippi isn’t banning alcohol from its beaches, making it an even more shiny destination for college spring break partiers who don’t pay attention to Mississippi underage drunk driving laws or the problems that can occur when intoxicated. While tourist seasons are important for both communities, Gulf Shores may have a better plan for outlasting the seasonal flow of students, alcohol, and the problems that occur when those two forces combine before the age of 21.

What happens on spring break can follow you around for the rest of your life, no matter where you spend your week away from school. A Mississippi underage drunk driving conviction (or any kind of DUI from any state) can affect your ability to get a job, housing or entry into grad school. Spring break is just around the corner, make sure you come out on the other side just as smart as you were going into the fun.

Call Now Button